Tel. +44 (0)20 7287 4414
Tel. +44 (0)20 7287 4414
The Bruges Group spearheaded the intellectual battle to win a vote to leave the European Union and, above all, against the emergence of a centralised EU state.
The Bruges Group spearheaded the intellectual battle to win a vote to leave the European Union and, above all, against the emergence of a centralised EU state.

Bruges Group Blog

Spearheading the intellectual battle against the EU. And for new thinking in international affairs.

Liberty Zone at Party Conference


At Conservative Party Conference this year, we are delighted to be hosting the 'Liberty Zone' on Monday 4th October 2021 at the Science and Industry Museum, Liverpool Road, Manchester, M3 4PF. 

We are holding our annual Party Conference event this year alongside Time 4 Recovery, a group set up to pressure the government with opposition to lockdowns and vaccine passports; The Conservative Campaign for Democracy whose slogan is 'Time for the Conservative Party to be Conservative Again'; and finally, The Freedom Association who will be holding a panel on how to conquer cancel culture. 

The Bruges Group conference will follow The Together Declaration's unmissable panel at 1 pm and will run until 2:30 pm. 

 The Bruges Group Speakers:

The Rt. Hon. Sir John Redwood MP

  • Director of Number 10's Policy Unit between 1982 and 1987 under Margaret Thatcher
  • MP for Wokingham since 1987
  • Junior Minister 1989-93
  • Secretary of State for Wales between 1993 and 1995; resigned to challenge John Major for leadership of the Conservative Party
  • Shadow Minister between 1997 and 2005
  • Member of the European Research Group; one of the 28 'Spartans' who voted against Theresa May's Withdrawal Agreement all three times
  • Long term friend of The Bruges Group 

 The Rt. Hon. Owen Paterson MP

  • MP for North Shropshire since 1997
  • Shadow Secretary of State for Northern Ireland from 2007 to 2010
  • Secretary of State for Northern Ireland from 2010 to 2012
  • Secretary of State for the Environment, Food and Rural Affairs between 2012 and 2014
  • Prominent Eurosceptic, member of the ERG and supported Leave Means Leave; one of the 28 'Spartans'

 Professor Tim Congdon CBE

  • Member of The Bruges Group's Board of Academics
  • Member of the Treasury Panel which advised the Conservative Government between 1993 and 1997
  • Founder of macroeconomic forecaster Lombard Street Research
  • Honourary Chairman of The Freedom Association
  • Stood as a UKIP Parliamentary candidate in 2010

 Professor Vernon Bogdanor CBE

  • Professor of Politics and Government at the University of Oxford; Fellow of Brasenose College, Oxford
  • Research Professor at the Institute for Contemporary British History at King's College, London
  • Professor of Politics at the New College of Humanities
  • British Constitutional expert
  • Esteemed author
  • Former adviser to several governments around the world on electoral reform and Constitutional matters

James Bartholomew

  • Museum of Communist Terror
  • Journalist for The Daily Telegraph, The Daily Mail and The Spectator
  • Author of 'The Welfare of Nations'
  • Prominent Brexiteer
  • Stood as a Brexit Party candidate in the 2019 European elections 

Together Declaration - The case against lockdowns and vaccine passports

11 am until 12:30 pm  


  • Sir Graham Brady MP - Chairman of the 1922 Committee
  • Andrew Bridgen MP - Prominent Euroscpetic and anti-lockdown MP
  • Professor Carl Heneghan - Director of the Centre for Evidence-based Medicine at Oxford University 
  • Laura Dodsworth - Author of 'A State of Fear' 
  • Alan Miller - Chairman of the Night Time Industries Association 

The Conservative Campaign for Democracy

2:45 pm until 3:45 pm


  • Joy Morrissey MP - Member of Parliament for Beaconsfield
  • Miriam Cates MP - Member of Parliament for Penistone and Coatbridge
  • John Stafford - Chairman of COPOV

The Freedom Association

4 pm until 5 pm


  • Chris Green MP - Member of Parliament for Bolton West and former PPS
  • David Campbell-Bannerman - Former Conservative MEP and Chairman of The Freedom Association
  • Baroness Fox of Buckley - Former Brexit Party MEP and Director of The Academy of Ideas
  • Alex Deane - Conservative commentator and journalist; author of 'Lessons from History' 

Font size: +

Contact us

Director : Robert Oulds
Tel: 020 7287 4414
Chairman: Barry Legg
The Bruges Group
246 Linen Hall, 162-168 Regent Street
London W1B 5TB
United Kingdom
Founder President :
The Rt Hon. the Baroness Thatcher of Kesteven LG, OM, FRS 
Vice-President : The Rt Hon. the Lord Lamont of Lerwick,
Chairman: Barry Legg
Director : Robert Oulds MA, FRSA
Washington D.C. Representative : John O'Sullivan CBE
Founder Chairman : Lord Harris of High Cross
Head of Media: Jack Soames